Hi all you php buffs.
Out of simple curiosity I thought I would take a look at php.
I've been programing since I joined IBM as a trainee developer in 1969, so I have some familiarity with programming in (eg) 360 assembler, APL. PL/I, ... , Smalltalk, Java, Swift. (I guess that means I can cut some corners compared to a complete novice.) But my specialty was desktop GUI design, so I'm a bit thin on modern HTML server tech.
I'm hoping you guys can suggest a suitable toolset for having a little play at minimum effort.
Most of my hardware is Mac, so I'd prefer native OSX or Linux under Parallels. Ever since I got my first Mac in 1984 I've seen the command line as something best avoided as far as possible, so I'd prefer something with a proper GUI that doesn't require me to memorise hundreds of bizarre ancronyms. Something like a Smalltalk workspace or the Swift Playground/sandbox would be ideal.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
JC

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

For PHP? Are you referring to an IDE? For OS X I'm a fan of Coda.

Yes, some kind of IDE. Obviously I already have Netbeans and XCode, but for running php I'm also going to need a web server etc (right?), so I'm looking for a one-click complete develop/run environment. Google lead me to Docker for example, which seems pretty simple, but I'm looking for some recommendations from unbiased people who know what they are talking about.

Check out Bitnami. I use their virtual machines which work out of the box for everything you would need for a LAMP stack environment.

For IDEs, I like PHP Zend Studio, which is a fork of Eclipse. I've found it to be a bit buggy on macs, but I like its feature set. I also use Coda which I think is a great native interface.

I just realised my Netbeans was out of date, and the latest (8.2) includes php 7, so maybe that's the easiest route for me?

Edit: