Reverend Jim 4,780 Hi, I'm Jim, one of DaniWeb's moderators. Moderator Featured Poster

I've been using GenuTax since 2013 to file my Canadian tax return. It's provided free and does the job nicely, but it misses one feature. Up north we can do pension splitting. That means I can offload some of my pension income onto my spouse, hopefully putting us in a lower tax bracket. Figuring out the optimum split is a chore. I have to type in a value then add up the separate values for me and my spouse to see if the combined number is better or worse than my previous guess. It's tedious and unnecessary so this yoar I automated it.

Using AutoItx and vbScript I threw together some code that does the grunt work for me. I'm making it available to all. Just copy the below code and save it into PensionSplitCalc.vbs. Remember to set your default script engine to cscript.exe (you need do this only once) by

cscript //h:cscript //nologo //s

''#region Header                                                                        '
''                                                                                      '
''  Name:                                                                               '
''                                                                                      '
''      PensionSplitCalc.vbs                                                            '
''  Description:                                                                        '
''      Automates the pension split calculation in GenuTax Standard.                    '
''  Notes:                                                                              '
''      If you are using GenuTax to file a joint tax return then you are likely using   '
''      pension splitting. GenuTax, unfortunatly (at this date) does not pick a value   '
''      that maximizes your return (or minimizes your payment). This script, using      '