Hello,

I am hoping one of you guru's can help me out. I am new to Javascript and a bit of a hack at HTML. The following works correctly in IE7 but doesn't work in Firefox. Any idea?

Also, is there any way to get IE to quit waring people of active content when they open this page with the annoying menubar thing?

An lastly is there a way to get the field to autopopulate when someone loads the page instead of the user having to click the button?

Thanks for any help you can give!
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>Click here</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
function setTodayDate(id, offset) {
// dd/mm/yyyy
var date = new Date();
if(offset!==undefined)
date.setSeconds(date.getSeconds()+offset);
var year = date.getFullYear();
var month = date.getMonth()+1;
var day = date.getDate();
var obj = document.getElementById(id);
if(obj)
obj.value = month+'/'+day+'/'+year;
}
</script>
</head>

<body>

<a href="#" onclick="setTodayDate('testfield', 2*24*60*60 );">Click here</a><br>
<input name="testfield" type="text" value size="12">

</body>

</html>

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

> The following works correctly in IE7 but doesn't work in Firefox. Any idea?

Because you are trying to retrieve the element using the id "testfield" but you don't have any element having an id "testfield", only one with a name "testfield". It works in IE because IE approximates or works with names if it doesn't find an element with a given ID. Form names are best accessed using the elements collection of the form object instead of searching for the element based on it's ID which is much slower. Read the Form access tutorial for more details.

> if(offset!==undefined)