I am completely new to asp.net. I just started to learn. I created a .html file which I then changed to .aspx. After I changed it to .aspx I can't open it through my internet explorer, what can be the problem.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

The problem is you haven't researched ASP.NET properly.

Why do you say that? I've been reading about it for about 15 hours, I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I'll check the link you posted, but if you know where the problem is, could you please tell me?

Why do you say that? I've been reading about it for about 15 hours

Wow! well how you can read 15 hours of ASP.NET getting started and surmise that merely changing the file extension of an HTML page is all that's required seems improbable.

But what the hey. Ok you can't just point IE at an aspx page in your file system, an aspx file needs to be processed by a web-server typically IIS and the .NET CLR (The framework). Visual Studio Express Edition has one built-in. Do you have Visual Studio ? installed? and the .NET Framework? that's definately step 1. They're free and you can get it from http://asp.net

The latest framework is version 3.5 and the latest VSEE is 2008

OPen VS and select New -> Website from the File menu, you should get a file in Solution Explorer ( a window with all the project files listed to the right hand side) named Default.aspx, paste your HTML in there (be sure to the leave the <@ page stuff and the DOCTYPE stuff and the opening <Form id="From1" runat="server"> and the closing </form>
tags intact .

Right click the Default.aspx file and choose 'Set as start page' in the context menu that appears.

Save everything (CTRL + SHIFT + S)
Press F5 key (start the debugger and launch your page in your default browser)
The first time you do this VS will moan about a debug directive missing in web.config, just say yes and it will do what it needs to do.