Alright, PHP Beginner here. I was just wondering, does anybody know of any good PHP books out there and if so, can you recommend one to me that has both help with PHP and MySQL?

I know some parts of PHP, such as the opening and closing tags (<?php and ?>) and the include, require_once, require and all of them and the if statement. But thats about it. I think this could count good for a beginner:

<?php

include("world.html");

// NOT A REAL CODE

if ($HTTP_POST_VARS = . '2' . == This part is for the expression);
      { Statement would go inside of
         this place right here with the brackets surrounding it
      }

?>

Well, that should tell a little about what I know. Anybody think they could tell me if thats a good start for a beginner. The above is not intended to be a piece of code, just what I know. ;)

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Not exactly....
a) $HTTP_POST_VARS are out dated, use $_POST now; and
b) If you use comments to show things in REAL code, people will pick up what you're doing far faster than if you confuse them with fake code.

For example, you could so something like...

<?php

/* We'll start by showing the top of the page. We've already created the TOP of the page and saved in in a file called header.html (in the same directory as this file). We can use the include() function to 'include it' at the top of our page as follows: */

include('header.html');

// Now we will check, did the user find the secret page?
// We can do this using an IF block as follows:

if( $_GET['found_secret'] == 'yes' )
{
      // Here we can do what we want for our 'secret page'.
      // The user can get here by adding ?found_secret=yes to the
      // end of the page's URL. This part of the code, the bits
      // between the curly brackets, is only 'read' by the PHP engine
      // if the above statement is true.

echo 'You found our secret <br />';
}

// Output footer...

include('footer.html');

?>