I am building a website for a real estate. As a designer I started doing the design in Photoshop, I am about to convert it in HTML but before I begin doing that I would like to know some things as this is my major concern.

How to make a filterable search function that will display the results on a frame / div of the same page. Displaying the picture, and basic some info.

Search an item by location, property name and property type.

Display each item properly on their respective categories menu.

I know it can be done with existing open source ecommerce templates, but it's too hard for me to learn all of that just for what i need. Also it's a little hard to integrate a custom design on the frontend.

Any help will be appreciated, guides, how to's, samples/template or codes will greatly help.

Thanks a lot!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for langsor

This is really a mouthful to address in one thread ...
1) You've got filterable search by various values
2) Displaying results either in an iFrame or dynamically with DHTML
3) Could you clarify this question or give an example of your category menus?
Display each item properly on their respective categories menu.

My advice is to search Google for site search utilities -- you will find tons of them out there for free many with filterable searching ... and this is probably a utility using PHP or ASP.NET or similar and not going to be using JavaScript

How you display results will partially be determined by what format the search utility returns the results in. An iFrame is easiest since it requires almost no scripting to get them on the page -- or again you could pre-format the results in PHP (likely, depending)