Hi, I'm a decent programmer but am completely new to the Web Development side of things, and am kind of winging it to build a website. I'm using Visual Studios 2008/ASP.net/C#.

So basically, I'm keeping things simple at the moment. I have a master file that contains a 'header', 'content', and 'footer' section. In the header section I have a row of buttons, which when clicked should change the contents of the 'content' section. I have a corresponding .aspx file for each of these, with generic contents to start:

<%@ Page Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/Master.master" 
    AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="Content1.aspx.cs" Inherits="Content1" %>

<asp:Content ID="content1" ContentPlaceHolderID="content_section" runat="server">
    <h1>CONTENT 1</h1>
</asp:Content>

Repeat from content1 to content5 to match 5 buttons.

Now I need to fill in this section (I think):

protected void btnContent1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {

}

but am not sure how it's done. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I don't know asp but in javascript it looks something like this.
document.placeholder.src = "hello.gif"

I don't know asp but in javascript it looks something like this.
document.placeholder.src = "hello.gif"

Thanks for the suggestion, but yeah it isn't quite the same. I can access my placeholder within the code, typing "content_section." brings up a list of functions, but there's no .src or .source, and ones like .page or .id return a value rather than set it.

Browsing around some more any examples I've found online focus on using LinkButton objects combined with a Sitemap within the .aspx file to change the place holder. I haven't been able to translate this into using a regular Button's event handling.

Hi

could you perhaps give more detail on what you want to achieve?

if you are trying to show different content at different times by the click of a button. You could use a <div>..
Example: