I am fairly new to coldfusion. so this may be a basic question. I am working on a form where i want to make some of the fields only required if a check box below the fields is left blank. If the check box has a check in it, then the above fields wouldn't be required.

<div align="center" class="style22 style21">Ground Transportation</div><br />

<table width="610" height="5" align="center">
    <td width="299"><div align="center">Car Type<br />
       <CFSELECT NAME="car_type">
         <option value="None selected">Select One </option>
         <option value="Full Size">Full Size</option>
         <option value="Intermediate">Intermediate</option>
         <option value="Compact">Compact</option>
         <option value="Sub-Compact">Sub-Compact</option>
         <option value="SUV">SUV </option>
         <option value="Mini-Van">Mini-Van</option>
         </CFSELECT>
    </div></td>

<td width="299"><div align="center">Two/Four-Door<br /> 
            <CFSELECT NAME="num_car_doors"> 
              <option value="None selected">Select One </option>
              <option value="Two Door">Two Door </option>
              <option value="Four Door">Four Door</option>
              </CFSELECT>
          </div></td>     

</table>

<table width="610" align="center"><div>
      <td width="170">Car Company<cfinput type="text" width="160" name="car_co1"></td>
	  <td width="176">Corporate Discount Num
	    <cfinput type="text" width="160" name="car_disc1"></td>
      <td width="170">Express Service ID<cfinput type="text" width="160" name="car_id1"></td>
  </table><br />

<table width="610" align="center">
    <tr>
      <td width="610">
           <cfinput type="checkbox" NAME="car_auth" >
        No car arrangements required.</td>
    </tr>
  </table>

So basically, if the user checks the box for no car arrangements required, then the above fields wouldn't require validation. But if he leaves the field no car arrangements required, then the above fields would be mandatory.