I created a list and detail page using Developers Toolbox and from the detail page, I want to be able to get to a series of other pages, all using the ID from the detail page.

So...here's my example. You login and search the mbrlist.php page for your user. Based on their ID, it loads their information into the mbrdetail.php detail page.

Once you get to this mbrdetail.php page, I want the user to be able to get to other pages such as mbrevents.php, mbrsocieites.php, etc. But I want the ID that was loaded in original detail page to carry through.

I'm extremely new to PHP and DT, so I'm wondering if this is possible and if so, is a URL variable the best way to do it?

If yes, how would I do this?

I appreciate any/all help.
Thanks for your time.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I am in no way familiar with DT, but I think I know what you're asking. On the mbrdetail.php page, you could make links to mbrevents.php, mbrsocieites.php, etc like so:

<a href="mbrevents.php?id=<?php echo $_GET['id']; ?>">Member Events</a>

This is, of course, assuming that the member's id is passed in the URL as the variable 'id'. If it is not, simply change it in the small line of code I gave you. The $_GET global variable is used to retrieve information sent to a page via a form using get, or a variables passed via the page's URL.

Yeah, good stuff. After a few hours of playing around with it, I started stripping tags and ended up using GET to get what I needed.

Now the issue is...it carries the ID over in the URL but my list query won't limit the results to just that ID.

So on the information page, there's a link...

eventlist.php?Id=<?php echo $row_rsodb_members['Id']; ?>

And the list page that the above links points to has the query...

SELECT odb_mbr_events.soc_id, odb_mbr_events.date_notified, odb_mbr_events.date_event,  odb_mbr_events.description, odb_mbr_events.id, odb_mbr_events.mbr_tbl_id, odb_lst_societies.id
FROM odb_mbr_events, odb_lst_societies