At the moment I have a normal ajax example that refers to an xml file.

This xml file is a conversion of a mysql database file I have.

Now I wish to cut out the middle man (xml) and refer straight to the database.

Any Ideas on how I would go about this? Possible examples?

I am not new to internet programming but I am new to the AJAX concepts.

Thankyou, Regards X

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

> Now I wish to cut out the middle man (xml) and refer straight to the database.

You can't, that's the entire point in choosing a data interchange format for the interface exposed. You can cut down the fat by choosing alternate formats like the very primitive comma separated values or a lightweight format most suited for Javascript clients called JSON.

If what I assumed here isn't the case with your application, post a sample request / response along with a bit of background on what you *actually* are trying to achieve.

I think you got the idea right SOS ill show you what I am trying to achieve and maybe you can tell me how best way to achieve it?

http://www.carsales.com.au/

The search on cars specifically the MAKE > MODEL, see how there connected?
Side Note: I like how it lists the number of makes in brackets anyone know how this is done?
This is what I wish to achieve.
I have all my makes and models in a database which I transfered to an xml file to make an ajax example.
At the moment my ajax example is TYPING (eg. Type A and a list of Audi Acrua Etc pops up).
I am trying to convert it to comboboxes now, but having a problem on how to populate that box.
Dont know If I should be using javascript/php/etc at the moment im 'trying' to use php to populate it.
And once this is done, it repopulates the models combo box from the chosen make?
Now how should I aim about solving this problem?

Any leads and help will be much appreciated, I have ideas but I prefer to take the lessons off you pros :P

Thanks, Regards X