Hello,

Firstly, Merry Christmas to everyone! :cheesy:

I'm thinking of installing PHP on WinXP Pro, using IIS 5.1 as my web server. I have browsed around and there's 2 versions of PHP( i.e. PHP4 and PHP5). I have no prior knowledge or experience in PHP whatsoever. I only did some VBScript using IIS, some java and c programming. Neither of them needed much configuration at all. ;)

My queries are:

1. Which would be a better version of PHP to install? (i.e. which version is more stable and has better functionality support.)

2. Is manual installation really that much better than using the installer?

I would be running PHP locally on my laptop to practise and learn the language from scratch. :o

Thank you very much in advance for your assistance and guidance!

Sincerely,
Rackus

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Use php5 since it is the latest version. and on the php website they should tell you how to install it for your website.

ERMMMM, just go and download MySQL at mysql.com Be sure to gget the latest also. If yo ujust want to run php and dont care wheather its php4 or php5 then search in google or sourcforge for PHPTrial or XAMPP.

IT would be best to do everythinb by hand.

Are you going to be using IIS or apache?

If this is for testing on your local i suggest running apache esp if your regular webserver is linux based as IIS will be insanely differnt.

you can get and run apache + php + mysql really easily.

If your going to be using IIS run it as an ISAPI filter, as it is a much better choice overall, Not a fan of IIS so I can'te tell you how to get php setup, just dont set it up as CGI.

your going to want install php by hand, as most people have a hard time configuring php5 to work with mysql esp on windows, use php 4 and mysql 4.0.20/22/23

:)

IT would be best to do everythinb by hand.

Are you going to be using IIS or apache?