I am an absolute beginner when it comes to create WebSites and are perheps out to catch some basic knowledge of the steps of creating a page etc...
I am not a beginner in C# and C++ and know these languages Well.

I have downloaded Visual Web Developer 2008 Express Edition where I can use my C# skills.

* For example I have purchased a DomainAdress already:
http://www.abc.com //Example

* I have created a test-WebSite in Web Developer like this:
// Only a button and 2 textBoxes for a test

protected void Button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
        TextBox2.Text = TextBox1.Text;
    }

Now is my question. I can run this WebSite through F5 on my computer but I dont know how I will connect this WebSite with my purchased adress so others can access it ?
This is my question. What do I need to do this ?

Thanks a lot

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I've never used WebDeveloper but to put your pages up to view on a website you can FTP your site, and there are also applications to download that are more secure for file transfer.

But open up windows explorer, and type in

ftp://abc.com

Then there's your web space. Copy your web page over and then to view it online the directory will be like www.abc.com/AmazingWebpage

Thanks for answer :)
I think I have to ask what ftp:// really meens or is.

1. Do I connect to a Server online by typing ftp://abc.com that are connected
to my Domain www.abc.com ?

2. When I write ftp://abc.com in Internet Explorer, I get a MessageBox that says:

"Windows cannot access this folder. Make sure you typed the file name correctly and that you have permission to access the folder

Details:
The operation timed out"

Should anything come up by typing in ftp://abc.com ?

I've never used WebDeveloper but to put your pages up to view on a website you can FTP your site, and there are also applications to download that are more secure for file transfer.

But open up windows explorer, and type in

ftp://abc.com