Hi there
I'm a newbie to asp.net and trying to learning it doing small forum application. In the application I've a page which lists the available threads in a given topic and I used a gridview. In the gridview the thread's title is hyperlinked and when clicked it will redirect to another page that lists the thread's original message and any other replays to it.

My problem is it won't work as intended. When I click the thread's title it displays the page but with error message. Here is a portion of the browser's output

Server Error in '/' Application.

Line 1: Incorrect syntax near ']'.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: Line 1: Incorrect syntax near ']'.

Source Error:

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace:

[SqlException (0x80131904): Line 1: Incorrect syntax near ']'.]
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection.OnError(SqlException exception, Boolean breakConnection) +859322
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnection.OnError(SqlException exception, Boolean breakConnection) +736198
System.Data.SqlClient.TdsParser.ThrowExceptionAndWarning(TdsParserStateObject stateObj) +188

here is the code for handling the click event of the selected index in the gridview

protected void GridView1_SelectedIndexChanged( object sender,   ventArgs e)
{
string threadID = GridView1.SelectedValue.ToString();
string topicID = Request.QueryString[“topic”];
Response.Redirect(“Messages.aspx?topic=” + topicID
+ “&thread=” + threadID);
}
<%@ Page Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/MasterPage.master" 
          AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="Messages.aspx.cs" Inherits="Messages" Title="Messages" %>