Hi,

I wanted to know what you PHP programmers recommend.

I am new to PHP and am doing pretty good. I gone to w3schools and tzig but found they only explained so much and not much indepth.

I been watching videos online that has made a huge difference in my understanding.

I am asking as i want something to help me along the way what book( do you recommend for learning PHP programming?

I want something that starts from begining to advanced and something that i dont need to keep buying books to get more advanced.

There are so many out there not sure what is best and wondering if anyone bought PHP/MySQL book(s) and have any to recommend?

Here are some i been looking at

http://www.amazon.co.uk/PHP-MySQL-Dynamic-Web-Sites/dp/032152599X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1240827560&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.co.uk/PHP-MySQL-Development-Developers-Library/dp/0672329166/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1240827560&sr=8-2

I enjoy reading books and find learning from books much easier reason why i am asking your recommendations.

Thank you,
genieuk

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

The only book I would recommend is the PHP5 and Mysql Bible. A great book that explains most of php in depth.

Thanks will check it out. Anyone else got any please recommend.

I am starting a course next year reason why i want to learn what i can so i can go on course and feel confident that i know something.

The only gripe about that book it was done in 2004 so not sure if that to old for a newbie learning in 2009, not sure

there is a later version http://www.amazon.co.uk/PHP-MySQL-Bible-Wiley/dp/0470384506/ref=pd_cp_b_3?pf_rd_p=212521391&pf_rd_s=center-41&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=0764557467&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_r=0CX3X171JRZ1EAM5ZX5V

not sure if that is as good at explaining thou

thank you,
genieuk

any other suggestions?

Althou i am new to PHP only been doing it for a few days i have still learnt rather allot.