This was a question in a previous topic but I didn't quite understand the answer.

I display radio buttons from a Array I built in ASP (radioArray) which contains a code/short desc/long desc. When someone clicks a radio button I want to invoke a Javascript function to display the short and long desc directly below the list of radio buttons.

1. should I use onClick="return display_desc(this.selectedIndex)"
OR onchange="return display_desc(this.selectedIndex)"

2. How do I get radioArray into a JS array for the JS function?

Any code examples of would be very helpful since I am a novice at JS.
:?: :?:

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I noticed this was unanswered. Speaking only for myself, I don't understand some of your terminology. I don't understand, when you speak of "arrays", whether you mean ASP arrays, JS arrays, or what.

Can you post some sample code? Or just describe in plain English what you're trying to do?

I noticed this was unanswered. Speaking only for myself, I don't understand some of your terminology. I don't understand, when you speak of "arrays", whether you mean ASP arrays, JS arrays, or what.

Can you post some sample code? Or just describe in plain English what you're trying to do?

I built an ASP Array that contains a (code/short desc/long desc) and then I display Radio Buttons for as many items that are in the array. When someone clicks on any of the Radio Buttons I need to display the short and long description for that radio button directly below the listed radio button. It's my understanding that I need to convert the ASP Array into a JS Array so I can then perform a JS routine to read the JS array and display the correct desc.

Hope that makes sense, Thank You

I think I need to see your "ASP Array".

The following is my current ASP code;

'Execute Stored Procedure and Load ASP Array
dim varMajCat() ' Array of Major Categories
set rsSub =cmd.execute ‘Executing SQL Server Stored Procedure
do until rsSub.eof