Hello,

I am relatively new to PHP and need some help parsing a file.

I was able to use explode to parse the file at the | delimiter , however I cannot figure out how to parse the file at two distinct delimiters.

The file will need to be parsed at the | delimiter and also at the ^ delimiter.

The code below works great, but now I need to expand it to include parsing at ^ delimiter.

<?php

Include "configdatabase.inc";

$filepath = "smp1.txt";

$lines = file($filepath);

$linescount = count($lines);

$data = array();

$i = 0;

foreach ($lines as $val) {

$data[$i] = explode("|", $val);

$i++;
  }
?>

Thanks
JBD

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

What are the two used for, or are they used to delimit the same things?

What are the two used for, or are they used to delimit the same things?

The two delimiters are not used for anything in particular. They are essentially junk. If I can parse the | and the ^ out of the file, put the contents into an array, then I will be able to post the data to a database.

Thanks for the help
JBD

heh, you're not making sense. At first you're saying | and ^ are both delimiters but now they're junk and can be thrown away? What I'm trying to get at is that if | is used to delimit strings and ^ are used to delimit fields then its a different solution than if they both delimit fields.

If they're truly junk and you want to ignore them, you could replace them with nothing. The code below will remove all carats from the string.

str_replace("^", "", $val);

heh, you're not making sense. At first you're saying | and ^ are both delimiters but now they're junk and can be thrown away? What I'm trying to get at is that if | is used to delimit strings and ^ are used to delimit fields then its a different solution than if they both delimit fields.

My apologies for not including more detail.