I am a newbie web designer and I have downloaded MySQL, php4 and uploaded phpBB2 to my server to setup my forum. and I have looked at countless tutorials and it's really getting stressful. Is there any way that you could guide me through the process using AIM or yahooIM?

Thanks a lot

starseed

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Can somebody at least point me in the right direction to a good tutorial?

Thanks

Can somebody at least point me in the right direction to a good tutorial?

Thanks

what you need to know.do u want to install phpbb on windows xp.have you installed mysql,php and apache.

You wouldn't happen to be running on GoDaddy's Windows servers are you? Their stripped down version of php on Windows doesn't work well (or at all) on all of my tries with phpBB but their linux servers were fine...

I have used Burning Board which is excellent

JohnT

If you mean Windows server, and already have IIS running i could help, because I have done it, but I need to know what versions you have.

doh, two posts, pls delete :(

If you mean Windows server, and already have IIS running i could help, because I have done it, but I need to know what versions you have.

I am having problems with GoDaddy Windows Mode, and phpBB. Grrrr. I'm going to try and use older versions, see if that will help.

Hi MartyMcFly,

Could you possibly help me out too? I'm not a real strong techie and I'm trying to install phpbb but I can't figure out which folder on my server it should go in. I have tried to install it from a couple of different places but it doesn't work. I have MySQL4.x on my server.

Thanks!

Evergreen

P.S. I am at iorhael@verizon.net on MSN messenger if you'd like to contact me that way.

I am having problems with GoDaddy Windows Mode, and phpBB. Grrrr. I'm going to try and use older versions, see if that will help.