hello, my 1st post....
i want to have a blinking cursor at the end of a sentence on my site. just like the blinking cursor on this page. does anyone know how to do this?
i cant figure it out. im a rookie at website design so please dont get too technical. any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

thanks. i took a look around on the site you suggested. they have some cool stuff. but i guess im just looking for the HTML code that will enable a blinking cursor at the end of the paragraph that basically does nothing. it is just to give the effect that someone was just typing text. kind of like the movie 2010 if you know what i mean.
heres a link to my site that might give a better idea of where im coming from. its supposed to be kind of outer-spacey feel to it.
http://spacedive.panicnow.net/
any other suggestions anyone?

I understand what you mean. It's just that what you're asking for cannot be done with standard HTML. You need a scripting language such as DHTML to accomplish special effects on web pages. A blinking cursor is, indeed, a special effect ;)

hmmm, ok. i think i understand now. but after looking at that site, im still just a s puzzled.. LOL. i did a search for "blinking cursor" and didnt find what i was looking for. i found code for creating a custom cursor and i barely understand that...
can ya help a bit further?

Sure. Most web pages use HTML, hypertext markup language, to add formatting to standard text. For example, you can use tables, colors, bold/italic fonts, etc.

If you want to do anything beyond the scope of that, you need a scripting language such as DHTML or JavaScript, for example.

Dynamic Drive is the only site I know of that suppliies free DHTML code snippets. Unfortunately, I don't know the language myself.