hi, i'm new to php...
i have created a login page -- login.html, where user can enter username & password.
when they submit the form, leads to a validation page -- login.php

if login succes it forwards to 3rd page. Suppose if it fails, then again redirects to login.html where i need a display a error message in a div as "Invalid Credentials" (div have been constructed already with css for that class display: none; )

i just need while redirecting to login.html that message should display by changing the css attributes.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

in your validating php if fails u can redirect to login page..... other wise to successfull page... u can set varibale value when redirecting ...just like below

<?php session_start();
if(!$_SESSION['id'] || !$_SESSION['name']){
header("Location: ./?error=1");
exit();
}?>

and catch this error varibale value to your login.html page and show it....i hope this will work

i have coded like this...

if($count==1)                                 // If result matched $myusername and $mypassword, table row must be 1 row  
{
	session_register("$mymemberid");                // Register $mymemberid
	header("location:viewprofile.php");    // redirect to file "login_success.php"
}
else {
	header("location:login.html?login=failure");
}

how to get the parameter in login.html page?
is it enough to send parameter like this?

$parameter = $_GET['login'];

u can set variable values as below but for this u have to change login.html page to login.php page beacuse we have to capture url variable value....if u want login.html then u have to capture url varibale value through javascripts and then u can alert to user....