Hi everyone and HAPPY NEW YEAR
:S (not sure if I am at the right place here but since I am pretty new, please don't scold me to death, just let me know and the next time ther won't be such next time, promise)

I have a simple but effective PHP FORM to manually input data into my MYSQL DB. I think about using this same form to UPDATE/DELETE entries as well.

However, before it does, I would like to be prompted with a warning, asking me if I sure want to proceed ... (sometimes I am just too fast :zzz:)

BUT, because I am not a PHP programmer I am pretty stuck on how to turn my simple submit form into an update/delete form

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

<input type='submit' onclick="return confirm('Do you want to make these changes ?');">

or

<form method='post|get' action='formhandlerurl' onsubmit="return confirm('Do you want to make these changes ?');">

for a prompt

<input type='submit' onclick="return confirm('Do you want to make these changes ?');">

or

<form method='post|get' action='formhandlerurl' onsubmit="return confirm('Do you want to make these changes ?');">

for a prompt

Sweet ... the simplest things we think are most complicated (leaset I think)

Thanks for that knock on my head, indeed :)

I am still working my brain out on how to code a row's data that would be displayed in a form and then I would just change any value of any field that would need to be updated ... any idea on that? I found one script online that does the first bit - but!

1 - it would fetch every single row's data of a table (with as many columns as you determine) and ...
2 - it would not update, but!

If you want, I can send you the file?

Cheers and still HAPPY NEW YEAR 2010 to you and your family

for an edit delete page
code an sql report that echos the database to the screen matching whatever you have input