Hi all,

I'm new to PHP and at this stage I'm still learning what is and isn't possible with PHP.

I want to add a script to my website that will automatically add the file size next to any link that leads to a non-HTML document.

For example, imagine I have a webpage that links to 50 PDF files. When someone loads the page, I want a script that will loop through each link on the page and add the file-size information.

I know I can achieve this by manually adding PHP code to each link, but is there a way to set up a script that will automatically add this to all the links on a page?

In other words, rather than me having to add a PHP reference at the end of every link on the page, is there a way I can add a piece of code to the top of the page that will then, somehow, search for every link on the page and automatically add some file size code to it?

As I said, I'm still coming to terms with what is and isn't possible with PHP, so I realise that what I'm asking may be impossible.

Thanks in advance for your help. :)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

A simple example... which loops through "pdf" directory, outputs all files with *.pdf extension and their size in bytes.

<?php

$dir = "./pdf";

$hnd = opendir($dir);

while($file = readdir($hnd))
{
	if(substr($file,-3) == 'pdf')
	{
		echo '<p>'.$file.': '.filesize($dir.'/'.$file).'</p>';
	}
}

closedir($hnd);

?>

A simple example... which loops through "pdf" directory, outputs all files with *.pdf extension and their size in bytes.

<?php

$dir = "./pdf";

$hnd = opendir($dir);

while($file = readdir($hnd))
{
	if(substr($file,-3) == 'pdf')
	{
		echo '<p>'.$file.': '.filesize($dir.'/'.$file).'</p>';
	}
}

closedir($hnd);

?>

Thanks for replying.

That code would solve the problem of how to get the file sizes in the first place, but how would I then distribute this information throughout the page?