Hi,

I just want to get the opinions of JSP developers on what they think the future of the platform holds.

I'm currently a university student and I have gained a lot of experience in Java, and some in JSP. I'm looking now to concentrate on a single web language in order to gain some practical experience in web development. I've noticed how there seems to be a lack of 'talk' about JSP compared to PHP and ASP.NET on the web, lack of up-to-date 'printed' books and just news in general.

I get the impression that JSP is either 'dying' or never really took off and is just a bit of a niché language/environment (whatever the right term is).

I find this a shame as I really like Java (especially now that I'm using C++) and wouldn't mind going down a JSP route. But at the same time, I don't want to invest my time in something that doesn't really have a future. PHP and ASP.NET are where, it seems, the jobs are at.

These are just my observations. Would anyone care to disagree? :)

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Completely wrong.

JSP holds a much larger share of all sites that are more than "hobby" sites, as compared to PHP and ".NET" anything.

And where did you get the idea that PHP and ".net" anything are "where the jobs are at"?

I've noticed how there seems to be a lack of 'talk' about JSP compared to PHP and ASP.NET on the web, lack of up-to-date 'printed' books and just news in general.

IMO, this kind of reasoning is flawed. Java is a pretty established language, as are C and C++. Do you still see a lot of C/C++ books these days? No. Can these languages be called dead? Hell no. You are confusing popularity/noise with liveness of a language or a framework. Sure, no one blogs about C/C++/Java these days, but that doesn't imply these languages are dead.

I get the impression that JSP is either 'dying' or never really took off and is just a bit of a niché language/environment (whatever the right term is).