Hi,

I need to hide the login screen of my web site whenever a customer has logged in..It should be done with javascript right??

Any suggestions?? Can someone help me to do this??

Thanks....:)

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Or you just have a different site layout depending on if he's logged in or not, this is done by having a simple if-statement on the session variable. The way you describe it must the login procedure be done with AJAX which often isn't needed.

Can you please describe me how to do it with the if statement on the session variable..
It would be great since im really new to web developing...
Thanks alot...

Hopefully you are working with PHP on the server since it's the only server language I know except Java which I never use for websites x)

Either you redirect the user to another page like facebook have done. They have a login page and when you are logged in you get redirected to your profile's "home"-page. So at the end of the login script, simply put:

header("location: userIsLoggedIn.php");

Or if you do it by just removing the login-box:

if ($_SESSION['login']){   //If the session variable "login" is true...
   //load this content
}
else {    //If the user isn't logged in yet
   //Show the login-box
}

I hope that will get you on your way :)

Can we straight away use like in the index page,

if ($_SESSION['login']){ //If the session variable "login" is true...
//load this content
}

or do we need to create a session variable called "login" before somewhere else??

It must be done in your login-script. When the user submits the information in the login-form the information must be sent to a script where the info is verified with a corresponding entry in your database. If it is, you set $_SESSION=true otherwise keep it unset. If you don't know how to do this you can see an example at this site:
http://www.phpeasystep.com/phptu/6.html