Hello!

I am fairly new to regular expressions (in PHP in particular, since there seem to be some special requirements/restrictions), and am especially stumped with my most recent attempt at parsing two particular strings.

The first one is a URL in which I want to retrieve the first variable:

http://somesite.come/page.html?var=1234&some=2

So, I want to retrieve "var"'s value explicitly (it will always be an integer). This is not from a URL to my site ("$_GET" isn't what I'm looking for); this is given as a string and nothing more.

The second one is a CSS (well, style) line, which goes something like this:

background: url("/images/dir/dir-20/0-0-0.gif") no-repeat scroll 0pt 0pt transparent; width: 0px; height: 0px;

In this case, I'd like to retrieve "0-0-0.gif" from the string.

Any method which you geniuses can conceive would be greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

For the first URL, you can retrieve the var parameter by exploding the string returned by parse_url. You can also use a Regex if you want.

$param = explode('&', parse_url($url, PHP_URL_QUERY));
if(is_int($param['var'])) {
//$param['var'] for the var parameter
}

//OR

preg_match("/var=([0-9]+)/i", $url, $matches);
//$matches[1][0] for the var parameter

EDIT: As a rule, everything is usually faster than a Regex...Keep that in mind :)

The URL from the CSS command can be found with a simple Regex:

preg_match('/url\("([^\/]+\/)*([a-z0-9-_\%\.]+)"\)/i', $css, $matches);
//$matches[2][0] contains the file name from the URL

If either Regexes need to be refined or you need clarification, just write back!
Cheers,
PhpMyCoder

Hi FlashCreations,

Thanks for the response!

The documentation by the PHP group on "preg_match()" is fairly vague - could you point me in the right direction by which to use it?

I have integrated your code like such:

// The CSS parse

$this->avatar = $post->find('div[class=shell] td');
foreach($this->avatar as $avatar) {