Hey guys,
Im really new at vb.net and i have a huge project on it.Somehow, ive managed to complete 90% of it but im stuck at the last 10%.This is a system basically set up for GPs.Medical Centre.The system has 3 users, patient doctor and admin.
The admin are allowed to book an appointment for the patients.Thts where im stuck at. The admin are supposed to get the patient name, doctor name, item number(consultation type,wether its a standard or a brief), booking date, booking start time, and end time.

The problem im having is, that when the admin is supposed to book an appointment, the system is supposed to make sure no double bookings are made. i.e a doctor is not booked for different patients at the same time and date. Ive tried the double bookings and i think it works. The problem is with the insertion. Somehow the data is inserted TWICE into the database and i cant figure out why. the double booking kind of works, because it does display the error that it can not be booked, but since the insert statement is executed first, it still does insert,but twice. I really need to get rid of the double insertion.Please HELP!:(

P.s. The code is Below.

Imports System.Data
Imports System.Data.SqlClient
Imports System.Web.Configuration
Partial Class Admin_Appointment
    Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Protected Sub Insert_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Insert.Click
        'Connection String'
        Dim connectionString As String = WebConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings("projectConnectionString").ConnectionString
        Dim con As New SqlConnection(connectionString)

'Sql for the select statement for comparision'

Dim cmd As New SqlCommand("SELECT consultation_ID,doctor_ID,bookingdate,bookingtime,endtime FROM consultationTable", con)
        'Opening the connection'
        cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@doctor_ID", doctor_ID.Text)
        cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@bookingtime", bookingtime.Text)