I have some music in the background of my website (Let it snow.mp3) - using the following code:

<script language="JavaScript"><!--
if(navigator.appName=="Netscape"){
document.write('<embed src="let it snow.mp3" autostart="true" loop="true" controls="SmallConsole" width=50 height=15></embed>');}
else if(navigator.appName=="Microsoft Internet Explorer"){
document.write('<embed src="let it snow.mp3" autostart="true" loop="true" width=70 height=25></embed>');}
else{
document.write('<embed src="let it snow.mp3" autostart="true" loop="true"></embed>');}
//-->
</script>
<noscript><embed src="let it snow.mp3" autostart="true" loop="true"></embed></noscript>
<noembed><bgsound src="let it snow.mp3" loop=true></noembed>

At the moment it starts playing automatically.

If the user is already listening to some music this can be annoying.

Would it be possible to have an alert box which comes up when the music is loaded saying something like:

Do you want to listen to "Let it Snow" by Chris Isaak while you browse my web site?
[Yes]        [No]

Hope you can help

Martin

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Why not set autostart to false and set hidden to false? I THINK that would give some sort of musical icon they can click on to listen.

The only thing wrong with that is if they don't see the player.

Martin

I have a problem. on my website, a flash player plays a background sound but when I refresh it or i change the page, it stops like it is available only at that page. what can I do to hear that sound on multiple pages of my site? please help me

I have a problem. on my website, a flash player plays a background sound but when I refresh it or i change the page, it stops like it is available only at that page. what can I do to hear that sound on multiple pages of my site? please help me