First off let me start by stating I am a complete newbie so I appreciate the help anyone can give me (as well as advice)

I am toying with a fantasy soccer site (just for a bunch of friends) and I am trying to set up some dynamic pages to help make this a little more interactive. In the past I have been able to put information into excel and read it in PHP to create a html table - This is fine and it works but I am thinking of possibly changing the game sim engine and thus the output information

The output file is a text file non-deliminated it will always be the same as far as the colums included (http://www.wiwag.hostei.com/s1.php)<----- an example - The thing that will change will be the numbers in the columns

I can get this read into a nice clean formatted table easily enough with some flags and such (http://www.wiwag.hostei.com/ss1.php)

What I am trying to figure out what to do is to make the roster page (as seen above)and make each player name be a clickable link that will take you to a player profile page that takes all of the table information for each player and re displays the information in a formatted way of just the selected player (http://www.oflm.co.uk/teams/viewPlayer.php?id=1) similar to this idea

As of now the information that is generated by the game is all text based there are no associated databases everything is text based so the game sims the matches and outputs text of updated rosters and such.....

Any ideas on how to go about this would be greatly appreciated.... And if it is easier to use MySQL to perform some of this I have it on my machine locally as well as on a host - but would need to know what commands to give to extract correct information

Thsnk you all in advance

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies