Hi,
:)
I am a newbie here and this is my first post.
:?:
I always wonder whether there is a better way of putting this or that or is there a work around for that, etc....
:idea:
So, its better if we can have an uncluttered discussion topic that will discuss all similar things under one roof...
:$
Expecting a great response and enlightening discussion from all of you... Lets begin ... :)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi,

Currently, in JavaScript, I append string to an existing string using the following method :

var str = "Hello ";
str += "fellow ";
str += "Daniweb.com ";
str += "members.";

I am looking out for a better and efficient way to do it ... please let me know...

Thanks.

I'll bite, you could create a function to append text... alas this would save you no lines of coding so I would say that depending on what you are trying to do, you sometimes need to tackle bigger problems with bigger ideas.

<script type="text/javascript">
function appendstr(orig,addto) {
	var str = orig;
	var add = addto;
	str = str + " " + add;
	return str;
// alternatively you can skip all code above and write this function in one line
        return orig + " " + addto;
// of course it really just depends on what you are trying to accomplish and I have added no type checking, you could even validate that both items are strings etc...
}

var str = "Hello";
str = appendstr(str,"fellow");
str = appendstr(str,"Daniweb.com");
str = appendstr(str,"members");
document.write(str);
</script>

Again, there is usually more that one way to do things, some methods or ways to write code are not necessarily wrong but not as efficient as they could be.
I also read about an implementation of a js StringBuffer, which I dealt with years ago in java. take a look at this code, I did not write it:

function StringBuffer() { 
   this.buffer = []; 
 } 

StringBuffer.prototype.append = function append(string) { 
   this.buffer.push(string); 
   return this; 
 };