Hi there,

I am relatively new to PHP and MySQL coding and I am currently using the Joomla CMS.

What I am trying to do is get a game name based on a custom field value from my DB like so;

// fetch the value of field called Game
$gname = $custom[0]->value; //returns something like Trine 2

//connect to database
$database    =& JFactory::getDBO();
$query  = "SELECT name, id, avatar FROM jos_games WHERE name = '$gname'";

$result = mysql_query($query);

// return database as arrays
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){

echo $row["name"]; //this too should return the name Trine 2 if it exists

}

}

it is far from perfect and I am not sure (as I am still learning) but I think it has something to do with $custom[0]->value; because if I change

$gname = $custom[0]->value;

to

$gname = 'Trine 2'; //changed to string

then the code works fine, please help me out :)

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

show us the root of this, and we will tell you.

$custom[0]->value

the root could be class or function..

It appears to be a problem with your $custom[0]->value indeed. Have you tried to use

var_dump($custom);

to see what's actually in $custom?

Well I did the dump and here is what it returned