I am making a basic craigslist type website with a search function. There is a field where you can enter what you think the name of the product might be and my search function is supposed to find names of products that match.

so for example a user can enter:
"squat rack"
"squatrack"
"sqaut rack"
"squat rac"
"scuat rack"
"squart rac" (you know, in case of a typo)

and hopefull what will show up in the serach results is:
"squat rack"
"some other kind of rack"
"squat machine"

and things that are similar.

I used "/<name of product>/" as my search criteria and it pulls up everything. Hopefully the user would put other search criteria to narrow it down but right now I'm looking for a regex that can do "close enough" type matches. Myabe even use a for loop or split it up into sections and do multiple searches I'd be OK with. I'm very new to regex and I find it to be difficult, so bear with me.

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

you can try using the LIKE operator in your mysql statement.

SELECT fields FROM database WHERE field LIKE 'variable'

ex
SELECT lastName, firstName FROM employees WHERE firstName LIKE 'a%'

Dont know much PHP but logic for regex is similar; use
\w+ - for one or more whitespaces
(q|c) - letter q or c
so squat/scuat/scaut/sqaut with ending whitespace will be. you get the idea.
s(q|c)(a|u)t(\w+)

Member Avatar for LastMitch

@dancks

I used "/<name of product>/" as my search criteria and it pulls up everything. Hopefully the user would put other search criteria to narrow it down but right now I'm looking for a regex that can do "close enough" type matches. Myabe even use a for loop or split it up into sections and do multiple searches I'd be OK with. I'm very new to regex and I find it to be difficult, so bear with me.

Here is couple of links that has regex examples that you can test it out and learn from it:

http://www.iamcal.com/publish/articles/php/search/

http://www.askaboutphp.com/25/regex-extract-content.html

Member Avatar for diafol