I'm going back to an old project to apply things I've learned. As a beginner, I was able to figure out how to change the query, based on what was chosen, but it seems like a backwards way to do it, and I'm not sure of a better way. I'm open to suggestions.

I have a search page where the user selects multiple search variables, many of which are broken apart into several tables for organization(one to many, many to many, and all that) . Once the user presses submit, I use ajax to get this script below, with several variables that either ='' if empty(nothing was selected), and so do nothing in the query, or equal whatever the variable selected was.

I'll post what I have here. This is a working script. but it is just so... ugly and primitive. How should I have done this? What's a better/ cleaner way?

Code:

<?php
if (isset($_POST['submitted'])){

require ('database_connection.php');

$item = $_POST['submitted'];
$leaf_shape = $_POST['s1'];
$leaf_color = $_POST['s2'];
$leaf_vein = $_POST['s3'];
$leaf_margin = $_POST['s4'];
$leaf_arrangement = $_POST['s5'];
$leaf_surface = $_POST['s6'];
$continent = $_POST['s7'];
$continent_region = $_POST['s8'];
$country = $_POST['s9'];
$state = $_POST['s10'];
$flower1 = $_POST['s11'];
$flower2 = $_POST['s12'];
$flower3 = $_POST['s13'];
$flower4 = $_POST['s14'];

$expand1 = "";
$expand2 = "";
$expand3 = "";
$expand4 = "";

$howmany = "2";

if ($leaf_color != ""){
       $expand1a = "JOIN plant_color_connector ON termin_connect_to_plants.plant_id = plant_color_connector.plant_id";
       $expand1b = "AND plant_color_connector.color_id IN (".$leaf_color.")";

}
if ($leaf_margin != ""){
       $expand2 = " ,$leaf_margin";

}
if ($leaf_vein != ""){
       $expand3 = " ,$leaf_vein";
       $howmany = $howmany+1;
}

if ($continent != ""){
       $expand4a = "JOIN plant_locations_link ON termin_connect_to_plants.plant_id = plant_locations_link.plant_id";
       $expand4b = "AND plant_locations_link.continents IN ('$continent')";