Hi all,

I've been playing around with this for 30 odd minutes now and basically been making a right fool of myself...

I want to make a function called userInfo() that uses the users email address, stored in $_SESSION['auth'];, to get any information required from sql. I'm using MySQLi and I'm very new to it (started this morning).

So basically, the function userInfo(); in config.php should create an array of that users info. When I need the username of the user I should be able to type $userInfo['username']; or $userInfo['landline']; to get the landline of the user anywhere on a page that has config.php included.

Now looking at the below example from php.net I know I need an associative array. What I don't udnerstand is keeping the array alive for the pages lifespan so that I can easily display array values anywhere. I've dedited the query below to match my actual SQL query.

<?php
$mysqli = new mysqli("localhost", "my_user", "my_password", "world");

$query = "SELECT * FROM users WHERE email = '".$_SESSION['authenticated_user']."'";
$result = $mysqli->query($query);

/* associative array */
$row = $result->fetch_array(MYSQLI_ASSOC);

/* free result set <--- Do I just delete this? */ 
$result->free();

/* close connection <--- Does closing the connection destroy the retrieved values? */
$mysqli->close();
?>

Can anyone please help?

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

That's already page scope, and you could use $row anywhere on the page.
If $row appeared in a function, you could only use it within that function.
The scope is important, perhaps you should provide the code you're using which causes your actual problem.

Everything looks good, but just to make sure that you can access your data globally you might want to do something like this.

<?php
//this is config.php
//inclusion of this file will give you access to an array called $userInfo
//you can get information about the user by accessing this array using a key