I am a newbie programming Ruby. I have the below code. Method sum_to_n? which takes an array of integers and an additional integer, n, as arguments and returns true if any two elements in the array of integers sum to n. It should return true for the empty array with zero argument, but keeps returning false.

def sum_to_n? (arr, n)
  hash = Hash.new(0)
  arr.each do |val|
   if hash.key? val
    return true
   else
    hash[n-val] = val
   end
end
return false

end

What am I doing wrong ?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

The only return true is your code is on line 5. That line is inside the each, so it can only be reached if the array is not empty (otherwise the code in the each does not execute at all). If the array is empty it goes directly to line 10 and thus returns false.

If you want to return true for an empty array if the argument is zero, you need to add a check whether the array is empty and the argument zero and return true in that case.

If you also want to return true if the array contains the element n (and thus no adding is necessary), you could just append the element 0 to the array before the each. That way no special case would be necessary and sum_to_n?([],0), sum_to_n?([42],42) and sum_to_n?([23,13,7],13) would all be true (if that is indeed the intention).

Hi, where would you put the check in the code?

I have tried using :

if arr.nil? || arr.empty? 
    Return True 

and still same results ...

I cant figure out what is the issue yet. :(

That looks fine assuming the syntax errors (Return and True being capitalized) were just typos when copying the code here.

Where did you put the code? If you put it inside the each, it won't work because, as I said, the each won't run if the array is empty.

If you put it after the return false, it won't work because the method is done once return false is reached.