I am a 19 year old guy who is yet to get a CS degree from the university. I learned web development on my own from resources online. Mostly from youtube videos precisely from thenewboston and phpacademy and a few text-based tutorials from w3schools.com.

I am good with HTML, HTML5, CSS3. I am also good with procedual and function PHP. But by the way I am very cool with OOP in PHP. I don't know much about JS but I know how to do some few AJAX calls to dynamically query my database and show results in my apps. I am very proficient in SQL statements and using MySQL as my RDBMS. I sometimes use already built JQuery functions to implement sliders and carousels in a few of my projects. I don't know any PHP Framework yet I like building my own and also I have fair knowledge in MVC Frameworks.

My problem is with my skills above can I apply for a junior web developer position. It's like a fear to be intimidated by co-workers that I'm a novice or something like that.

Thanks for your comments.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Heh! Good for you, at your age I barely knew about HTML...

It's like a fear to be intimidated by co-workers that I'm a novice or something like that.

Never fear, just be keen to learn from others. It can only improve your skills.

commented: thanks cereal +3
Member Avatar for diafol

Sorry Gideon, not sure what you're getting at. Are you scared to enter the jobs market? I suppose everybody is a novice in somebody's eyes.

Thanks, diafol and cereal, but that being said are my skills good enough for that position (being junior web developer).

Member Avatar for diafol