Hi, I am currently creating a website for my company and I am new to VS .NET programming. I have been using it for about two or three months as a trainee but my supervisor has currently gone away for a project she must complete up there. Anyway, my problem is, I am trying to make the header display different colored links for the page in question, no it's not as simple as using the average html alink as it is SPECIFICALLY for the header only and must only change for the page in question. E.g. I am currently on the "Index.aspx" page, I would like for the "Home" link in the header to change from navy blue to dark orange or red, whatever. When I change the page I wish for the "Home" Link to return to navy blue and the page in question's link to be dark orange or red. This is the code I have so far:

Private Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

If (what goes here?) Is ("Index.aspx") Then

lnkHome.ForeColor = Color.DarkOrange

lnkEmp.ForeColor = Color.Empty

lnkVac.ForeColor = Color.Empty

lnkIntrnl.ForeColor = Color.Empty

lnkReg.ForeColor = Color.Empty

lnkLnks.ForeColor = Color.Empty

lnkCntct.ForeColor = Color.Empty

End If

End Sub

Oh, by the way, the header is a control, and the code snippet above was extracted from it. If you could help out here I would be so thankful to you as this is the only problem I am stuck on! Thanks very much guys!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I just tried something else, in index.aspx i've put

imports gwt.head

then I put

lnkHome.ForeColor = Color.Red

I go to build, but there is an error because gwt.head is protected or something?? I will keep trying and keep you updated, I need help!

I'm not sure what gwt is, but its not in the standard .NET Framework. If you remove the imports line, you're code probably should compile properly.

How does your site work? Is everything done off one page with querystrings? Are their seperate ASP.NET Web Forms for each 'highlighed link'?