So I am working on a messanger, and I am having problems automatically fetching new messages from the database.
If anyone can fix me up with a peice of code which can fetch new information from the database after every 2 seconds or so.

I am very new to working with PHP and databases, but this is the code I got so far.

<?php $loadRecent = $db->fetchAll("SELECT * FROM messages WHERE fromUser = ? AND toUser = ? OR fromUser = ? AND toUser = ? ORDER BY dateTime, id DESC", array($ownerID, $myID, $myID, $ownerID)); ?> 
    <?php
        if($loadRecent) {
            foreach($loadRecent as $recent) {
                $messageID = $recent['id'];    
                $message = substr($recent['message'], 0, 200);
                $dateTime = $recent['dateTime'];
                $fromUser = $recent['fromUser'];
                $fromName = $recent['fromName'];
                $readUnread2 = $recent['readUnread'];
                if($readUnread2 == 0) {
                    $readUnread = '(Unread)';
                    } else {
                    $readUnread = '';
                }
                if($fromUser == $myID) {
                echo "
                <div class=\"msg\">$message</div>
                <div class=\"msgsentby\">{$fromName} @ {$dateTime}</div>
                ";
                } else {
                echo "<div class=\"msg msgfrom\">$message</div>
                <div class=\"msgsentby msgsentbyfrom\">{$fromName} @ {$dateTime}</div>";
                }

}
            } else {
            echo "<center>Your recently messages will appear here!</center>";
        }
    ?>

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

I'm assuming you want an ajax call every 2 seconds. Don't ask for code though - show what you have tried and then we have a starting point for discussion. However, I will give a few pointers WRT how I'd tackle things: