Hi,
my asp.net app runs on my laptop but when i put it on my webserver, the aspx pages won't load. I'm a pro VB programmer, both computers are on win2000 pro. it says: error in "/" application. I think the code is ok, no trace or debug problems, so it's iis or what?

I'm not familiar with pws, do i have to do special setups or should i just put win2000server on the webserver?

I'm thinking of running a webserver with a static IP as I have to update databases daily, would I still be better off to use a web hoster?

thanks, tommi

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

Did you type the URL directly in? For example www.mywebserver.com/index.aspx if that works, then the reason you aren't seeing your page by just typing www.mywebserver.com is because the page name hasn't been added in in IIS. Go into IIS, locate your website, right-click, go to properties click on the documents tab go to add and add your document "*mypage*.aspx". If this doesn't solve the problem, could you please go through the steps you did in order to publish the site on your web server, usually, you just:

go to Project>copy project
type in your url for your web server
Use frontpage web access method
Copy only the project files needed to run this application

if that doesn't work, could you please explain what method you used in publishing and the exact error.

Hope I helped

Slade

When you put it on your webserver, did you just copy the files over?

Is .NET Framwork installed on the webserver?

If so, you have create a Virtual Directory in IIS that matches the directory you placed those files in. Asssuming not right into the wwwroot folder.

Slade is correct in asking how did you publish, create or otherwise generate these aspx pages?

We need to know a little more to fully answer your question.