Hey all,

I spotted Rugby mainly by looking at the "hello world" thread in Legacy. So I was wondering if it is actually worth learning? I am always looking for more ways to update my CV, but is Rugby wide-spread enough to warrent learning for any other reason than fun?

I do like the simplicity it seems to have, though if it's mainly just for things for me to use I guess I would be better going for a more mainstream language.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

An eloquent language, seemingly. Simple yet profound, possibly? I think so.

I am new to Ruby myself, but I hold it as something special that I predict will grow at least to the level of Python, hopefully.

MattyD

A better question to ask is any programming language worth it? Google suggest gives us a clue. By going to Google suggest and typing in ruby on rails we get around 58,500,000 pages compare this to 21,700,000 pages for python and you can see that by a measure of 2 to 1 ruby is worth it.

Check it out for yourself http://www.google.com/webhp?complete=1&hl=en

but is Rugby wide-spread enough to warrent learning for any other reason than fun.

Its not that well spread yet; still most popular in the UK, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia and South Africa.

I use Ruby! It's easy to learn (if you know other languages, like python, it's REALLY easy). I would suggest this language to anyone.

A better question to ask is any programming language worth it? Google suggest gives us a clue. By going to Google suggest and typing in ruby on rails we get around 58,500,000 pages compare this to 21,700,000 pages for python and you can see that by a measure of 2 to 1 ruby is worth it.

Check it out for yourself http://www.google.com/webhp?complete=1&hl=en

You cant just put ruby on rails in, it needs to be in quotes so you don't get gems and train related stuff back.

http://www.google.com/trends?q=ruby+on+rails%2C+python