I have been working a bit in PHP and JavaScript and AJAX lately. I am very new at it all, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the question:
What is the best way to make sure keep data from an AJAX call, and cut back on duplicate requests and downloads from the MySQL server?

Here is the background:
What I am working on is a page that has four chained select boxes with dynamic content. The first select box is the User, which in turn populates the next box, Book. Book, populates Chapter, and Chapter populates Verse. When a value in Verse is selected, it uses some simple AJAX to go off to a MySQL database and get the verse that was selected to display it on the page in a span.

Originally I had the page set up with only three chained boxes, Book, Chapter, and Verse. They all worked perfectly, and I found a nice library that had some great functions for dynamic select boxes. There were no errors with the boxes repopulating and all that was happening behind the scenes was transparent to the user.

The purpose of the select boxes is to make it easier to navigate through verses that are highlighted in a bible and display them (currently one at a time).

I originally had just my own list of verses, which totaled 1,344. That is quite a lot, but it didn't affect the time for loading too much on the average computer. The size was about 66k, which isn't tiny, but it was acceptable to me. When I decided to add more people to the list, I realized how many verses there could end up being. If each person had even 500 verses, and there were 5 people, the time to download would no longer be acceptable. So now I am currently working on a solution.