Hi,
Im new to ASP.NET. Im trying to create a webpage in VS.NET, with details like Name, Age, Designation, Marital Status (as labels) and a corresponding extBox for each of the label(For Marital Status, its a radio button each for Single and Married). There is also a SUBMIT button at the bottom. Once the USer enters the details, and clicks the SUBMIT button, it should throw up another page with the details that the user had enterd.
I have created 2 webpages with the required labels, textboxes etc. But Im confused on how to pass the data from the 1st page to the 2nd one.
Could anyone help??
Thanx.
Kally

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi Kally,

You have many options. Here are the most common two options:

1. ASP.NET Querystrings
  2. ASP.NET Session State

Each method has its benefits and drawbacks. Since you're a beginner I would suggest the first. Use a search engine to find tutorials on those; I'm sure you'll find plenty.

Cheers.

Hi Zmariow,
Thanks for your answer. I was able to find a way of passing data using a QueryString. But Im hab\ving one problem. While I was able to extract data from te text boxes and the dropdown list, Im unable to get the selected data from the radiobuttons. Could you help me with that?
Thanks.
Kally

Here's one way of doing it:

Create a string for every radiobutton and then check if the radiobutton is checked or not. If yes, then let the value of the string be true, otherwise false.

Next, pass the string value using the QueryString.

That's it :)

Thanx once again for your answer, but could you explain it a bit? Im not getting how to create a string for a radiobutton.
Thanks.
Kally

Assuming you have a radiobutton with name rb you can write:

string rb_value;
if(rb.Checked)
    rb_value = "true";
else
    rb_value = "false";

You see :)

Actually, I have got 2 radiobuttons named RadioButton1 and RadioButton2;
I had created a string for each of them and made an IF clause earlier as below:
string rb1;