I am new to JSP and struggling with this issue. I created a Hello World page and worked fine. After I made some changes, I uploaded the new version of my index file several times. I have even deleted my index.jsp file from the server, along with the WEB-INF and META-INF folders. I've done this several times, even at shell level, yet when I visit the .JSP file in my browser, it's the same file. It will not update. In NetBeans IDE, I have built and ran my project and it works correctly, displaying the correct file. I've even opened the file in a simple editor first before uploading to make sure the build file was the new updated file and it is. So why after I upload it, does the same page exist? How is that possible?

I've cleared my browser cache, deleted history, everything I know to do. This is not behaving like any other programming language I've used before.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

You need to restart the webserver i think (i had a similar problem but using IIS and ASP.NET and this solved it)

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't that seem like a pretty serious action to do when uploading a new version of a file. I can stop and restart services for the server, but that does not fix the issue. Restarting the server is pretty much out of the question. Although I'm still developing, the main server is the same as the development. It would cause too many problems having to restart everytime I upload an updated file. Is there anything else that can be done?

Why when I delete the file I get a 404? Should it require a restart before that as well?

In work folder of your application/web server installation search for the Java and Class files generated earlier for your old JSP, try removing them. Put the modified JSP file in place, clean up your browser cache once again and try accessing the page.
Let me know if it helped.

Just For your reference, generated classes are generally kept at following places in two of the servers I have used: