I need to figure out how to bind data and call it back anywhere on the page. Basically, this is what I am trying to do. Keep in mind that I am an asp programmer and am very new to ASP.NET.

I have build a custom login page that works. Now I need to retrieve the number of comments from a database and post it like I did in asp. Also, I need to retrieve a users id and post it in multiple places randomly on the page. Thanks.

I am converting an asp site to asp.net.

Sub btnLogin_Click(S As Object, E As EventArgs)
	Dim loginValid As String
	Dim conLogin As OdbcConnection
	Dim cmdSelectLoginfo As OdbcCommand
	Dim dtrReaderLogin As OdbcDataReader
	Dim conStringLogin As String
	Dim SQLString As String
	Dim cmdSelectComments As OdbcCommand
	Dim dtrReaderComments As OdbcDataReader
	Dim SQLComments As String
	Dim strUAID As String
	Dim arow as datarow
	conStringLogin = System.Configuration.ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings.Get("ConnectionString")
	conLogin = New OdbcConnection( conStringLogin )
	SQLString = "SELECT UserID FROM Users WHERE UserName='" & txtUsername.Text & "' AND UserPassword='" & txtPassword.Text & "'"
	cmdSelectLoginfo = New OdbcCommand( SQLString, conLogin )
	conLogin.Open()
	dtrReaderLogin = cmdSelectLoginfo.ExecuteReader()
	if dtrReaderLogin.hasrows then
		conLogin.Close()
		Session("Login") = "Logged"
		hypAccount.NavigateURL = "/Vegas2/MyAccount/account.aspx?uaID=" & arow("UserID") & ""
		SQLComments = "SELECT COUNT(*) AS Comments FROM Comments WHERE ReadComment='No' AND UAID=" & arow("UserID") & ""
		cmdSelectComments = New OdbcCommand( SQLComments, conLogin )
		conLogin.Open()
		dtrReaderComments = cmdSelectComments.ExecuteReader()
		if dtrReaderComments.hasrows then
			hypComments.Visible = True
			hypComments.NavigateURL = "/Vegas2/MyAccount/comments.aspx?uaID=" & arow("UserID") & ""
			hypComments.Text = "New Comments!"
		else
			hypComments.Visible = False
		end if
		dtrReaderLogin.Close()
		dtrReaderComments.Close()
		conLogin.Close()
	else