I am working on a web-based app, and I need to implement a function whereby it checks the dates daily, and send reminder email automatically.

May I know how can I do that? I saw some websites that mentioned about Console Application and Windows Scheduler.
Is that what I need? If so, how can I link to my app?
Otherwise, what are the methods that are available?

I'm new to C# and asp.net, please help.
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

hi,
there are different options to send email automatically
1) you can use windows schedular in u r computer to send them
the following urls will help u :
http://blogs.msdn.com/dditweb/archive/2006/10/09/Windows-Services-Or-Task-Scheduler_3F00_-_2D00_-Part-I.aspx
http://www.gridviewguy.com/ArticleDetails.aspx?articleID=32

2)u can achieve the same functionality using sql server,if u are using that in u r project.
first u need to configure the sql to send emails the procedure and requirements for a computer to send email are given below,hope it helps

Requirements for Domain User Account

All domain user accounts must have permission to:
Access and change the SQL Server directory (\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\Mssql).-->the server account we r using should be db owner.
Access and change the .mdf, .ndf, and .ldf database files.
Log on as a service.-->go to control panel->administrator tools->services->local security settings->local policies->user rights assignment->double click we will get logon as service->check whether the account is included in the list displayed otherwise add
Read and write registry keys at and under:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\MSSQLServer.
-or- for any named instance: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server.
start->run>regedit>HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>Software>
Microsoft>mssqlserver>right click and check for permisions and check whether u r account is listed or not
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlset\Services\MSSQLServer.