since im new here and this is my first post........

i started programming as a freshman (im now a sophmore) with VB, and have since, i and my teachers feel, have mastered that, tought myself C and am pretty accomplished in that language. I am working on the object oriented part of C. I am looking to create an operating system, have done some reasearch and found most say to use Assembely or a mix of assembely and C/C++. I have gone through a few assembely tutorials, and am completely ready and willing to spend a few years on this project if necessary.

I have at my disposal a development envoriment consisting of a development machine and a test machine, and a way to transfer files between the two, but they are not directly linked.

now that you have a slight background and know what i am capable of doing/learning here is my question.

I would like to create a simple operating system for the x86 platform that will boot up the machine, check to see if a cd is in the cd-rom drive, if so, execute the code (mostlikely in C) from the CD, if not, execute some default code (again, mostlikely C) that will bring up a screen which i can code myself.

wow, there really is no question in there......i guess what i want is to know is if there is an os out there that does this, or something close to this that i could modify. if not then how should i go about starting with this, and any help is apprecieated

lol, hope i came across as clear

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for mikemark

since im new here and this is my first post........