Ola!

I'm still kind of new with the whole assembly language and just need some help with this program i'm writing.

What I want it to do is to ask a question -like for a number and then store that inserted number in a variable. And then test whether its bigger than 14 which I declared as a variable already as shown below-and then there is a loop to ask again what is the number. So I want the loop to run as many time the number the user entered.

output db 10,13, "Enter your number: $"
asq dw 10,13, "$" ; ascii values for a new line
stilltoimplement db 10,13, "Do calculations later on $"

.code 

jmp start 

number db ?
    max db 14 ;max number

start:
    mov ax,@data 
    mov ds,ax

mov ah,09 ;prints new line
    mov dx, offset output
    int 21h

mov ah, 01 ;checks for key
    int 21h
    mov number, al

cmp max,number
    jg start
    jl part2

part2:

mov ah,09
    mov dx,offset stilltoimplement
    int 21h

ending:
    mov ah,4ch
    mov al,00
    int 21h ;End the program

END

It gives me an error in where I try to compare the two variables and says Illegal memory reference. Prob just something small

Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

If the user enters 14, will it ask 14 times or will that be a different question to ask?

Ola!

I'm still kind of new with the whole assembly language and just need some help with this program i'm writing.

What I want it to do is to ask a question -like for a number and then store that inserted number in a variable. And then test whether its bigger than 14 which I declared as a variable already as shown below-and then there is a loop to ask again what is the number. So I want the loop to run as many time the number the user entered.

output db 10,13, "Enter your number: $"
asq dw 10,13, "$" ; ascii values for a new line
stilltoimplement db 10,13, "Do calculations later on $"

.code 

jmp start 

number db ?
    max db 14 ;max number

start:
    mov ax,@data 
    mov ds,ax