Hi Everyone,

How important is for computer programmers to learn assembly language.I am a C# programmer and i haven't program in assembly language at all.Is it really worth learning assembly language for high level language programmers.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

.Is it really worth learning assembly language?

No.

I am an assembly only programmer at the lowest level, not using macros or any higher level extensions specifically. As a hobbiest and a good dose of nostalgia mixed in as my first ASM attempt was in 1978, I can afford to be as unproductive as I want.

Archetecture has evolved to the point where understanding instruction sets is a study in and of itself and HLL implementors probably do a pretty good job of addressing that pardigm. In an analogy, understanding shift latency in a trasmission or dwell angles in an engine, doesn't make you a good driver.

I would suspect though, game developers would be keenly interested in someone with assembly knowledge and probably hardware developers too. That being said, MicroChip has a "C" compiler now, for thier PIC series of controllers.

As SHL said, no. In my experience, the only times you will need assembly is if you're developing and operating system, or you're developing on an architecture for which there isn't a compiler for a higher level langauge (eg C). High level languages were invented to be quicker to write, faster to learn and easier to understand than lower level languages. There's a reason that mainstream programmers focus on high level languages.

That being said, if you want to learn assembly, there's nothing stopping you.