Hello:

I am a programmer. I work professionally primarily in C, C++. Most personal programming projects I do is in either C++ or Python. I am studying Java and Ruby currently.

My quetion is: How valid do you find Assembly language in a modern sense, professionally or otherwise?

I ask this for a specific reason. I have never studied Assembly; when I went to school for Software Engineering it was not required (as surprising as that may seem). My insticts tell me that I should at least on my own learn the basics of Assembly, code some build projects in it to get a feel for it, etc.

Would it be a wise idea to pursue this, studying and familiarizing myself with Assembly, or would it be a waste of time at this point considering that, at least in my line of work as a programmer, OOP and compilers do all of the lower-level work for me.

Very interested in your honest opinions and I will base my decision on this.

Thank-you in advance,
sharky_machine

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

It would definitely be to your advantage to have at least a fundamental knowledge of assembly if for no other reason than to know how programs are run at the machine level. Assembly language is not nearly as relevent in today's 32-bit environments which gobs of ram and fast hard drives. You can still do in-line assembly pretty easily if you think you can out-optimize your compiler. If you are looking for portability between operating systems, such as *nix and MS-Windows, then you should stay clear of assembly -- it ain't portable.

I just run across this today:
http://discuss.joelonsoftware.com/default.asp?joel.3.7054.16
which basically asks the same question. Pondering this, I came up with this analogy: