Member Avatar for ericstern

I am relatively new to the programming world so I apologize if my code seems naive in any sort of way.I have been making a piece of code that counts all the circular primes below a given number, 'input'. If you wonder what circular primes are, you can check it out here.

What i know:
The code runs but fails to identify some circular primes correctly.
In line 20, the printf always shows numbers that are circular primes.
Therefore, the circular_prime function sometimes goes over a true circular prime and does something to it that makes it decide that it is not a circular prime.

I suspect that the problem lies in the line

checker =  remainder * pow(10, size-1) + checker/10;

under the circular_prime function. What i do is get the last digit of a number, shift all digits of a number to the right, and multiply that last digit *10 enough times to put it in front. E.g. 197 -->719

Here is what the code looks like:

/*NOTE: (int)(log(integer number)/log(10)) + 1 = number digits in a number   */

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
#include <stdbool.h>
bool prime(int);
bool circular_prime(int n, int size);

int main(void)
{
    int INPUT = 200;
    int i;
    int counter = 0;

for(i = 2; i < INPUT; i++)
        if(prime(i) && circular_prime(i, ((log(i)/log(10))+1)  ) )
        {
                   counter ++;
                   printf("%d \t %d\n", counter, i); //helps show which numbers are the circular ones
        }

printf("The number of circular prime numbers below %d is %d", INPUT, counter);

getch();
    return(0);
}

/*function checks whether a number is a prime or not */
bool prime(int n)
{.....this function works, so i cut it off from post.....}

/*functions checks for circular primes by rotating digits in the number 
  funtion arguments:    
      circular_prime(number to be checked for prime, number of digits in #) */
bool circular_prime(int n, int size)
{
    int checker = n;
    int remainder;
    do{