hey friends i need help once again...

i need to know that how to accessing a structure in another function using pointers.i mean when we returning a pointer to the main function we have have the address of the structure.how to use that address to access the structure..pls guys help me.i'm still learning.:S

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You use the pointer operator -> to access structure members. See line 18 in the code below for example.

struct person
{
   char lname[80];
   char fname[80];
};

struct person* foo()
{
   struct person* p = malloc(sizeof(struct person));

<snip>
   return p;
}

int main()
{
   struct person* p = foo();
   printf("Last name is %s\n", p->lname);
}

thanx for your reply...but i'm little confuse at line 17.what's the use of foo();.Can you please explain that?..

foo() is nothing more than a generic function to illustrate a problem. You said in your original post that you wanted a function that returns a pointer to a structure, and that function foo() does exactly that.

If that is not what you mean, then you will have to post some code to show what you want.

oh! i got it..thank you friend.this is what i tried.(not the complete one).

#include<stdio.h>

struct matrix* read(void);

struct matrix{
	int mat_1[3][3],mat_2[3][3];
};

int main()
{
	int i,j;

struct matrix* p = read();

for(i=0;i<3;i++)
	{
		for(j=0;j<3;j++)
		{

printf("%d	",p->mat_1[i][j]);
		//	p++;
		}
		puts("");
	}

}

struct matrix* read()
{
	int i,j;
	struct matrix matA;

for(i=0;i<3;i++)
	{
		for(j=0;j<3;j++)
		{
			matA.mat_1[i][j]=i+j;
			matA.mat_2[i][j]=i-j;

}

}

return &matA;
}

function read() can not return a pointer to an object that is declared locally on the stack. Why? Because stack objects are destroy immediately when the function returns.

There are two ways to fix the problem
(1) in read() declare matX as static, such as static struct matrix matX; The static keyword makes the object persistent, very much like a global object.