I am fairly new at programming in C and I'm having problems with writing a program which combines n objects from n different groups and prints them; for example objects a1 a2 a3from group A with b1 b2 b3 from group B and c1 c2 from group C; both group number and objects number may vary; the final possible combinations must contain 1 object from each group at the time (for example a1 b3 c2 is ok, but a1 a2 b3 is wrong because there are two objects from the same group and none from the third group). So far I've made several attempts using lists, rb trees, etc but I don't seem to be getting anywhere. So I'd really appreciate some help.... Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Think of it like three wheels on an old fashioned car odometer. Each wheel is from a different group, and each wheel can spin around, and then go back to it's starting value.

Three nested for loops is the simplest implementation I know. Arrays are what I use, for each group. Any data structure should be OK, but I like arrays for their simplicity and speed.

To see every possible combination, just have the right most wheel as your "driver" wheel, and when it has gone through all it's possible values, then it "kicks" the wheel immediately to it's left, over by one value. Just like a real odometer worked.

Think of it like three wheels on an old fashioned car odometer. Each wheel is from a different group, and each wheel can spin around, and then go back to it's starting value.

Three nested for loops is the simplest implementation I know. Arrays are what I use, for each group. Any data structure should be OK, but I like arrays for their simplicity and speed.

To see every possible combination, just have the right most wheel as your "driver" wheel, and when it has gone through all it's possible values, then it "kicks" the wheel immediately to it's left, over by one value. Just like a real odometer worked.